top of page

8 Lessons on Writing From J.K. Rowling

Article By Chris Mentillo 2019 Copyright

I would love to read a book by J.K. Rowling about her writing process, just like Stephen King’s ‘On Writing’. So, Joanne, if you’re reading this, this would make a great Christmas present. Even an article would be fine.


Last Christmas, I read the book “Harry Potter: A Journey Through a History of Magic” and it was packed with insights about J.K. Rowling’s writing habits. I was mesmerized. Discovering these habits I thought to myself: ‘I need to re-read Harry Potter and pay attention to her writing.’


During the winter of 2018, from January to March, I re-read the whole series. I had my notes app within reach along with a digital dictionary.


I’m not a native speaker, but I prefer to write in English for several reasons. Therefore it’s only fair I keep on studying the language to hone my craft. I learned many new words and expressions. But that’s not all.


I studied the pace of the books, the dialogue, the way characters are being brought to life — characters who’ve become household names.


Lastly, I’ve googled writing advice by J.K. Rowling and found wisdom in her commencement speech at Harvard. Sometimes she shares some gems of writing tips on Twitter.


Needless to say, she’s a huge inspiration to me. My pen name ‘N.A. Turner’ is a small homage to her.


So, here are the most important lessons on writing I learned from J.K. Rowling.


1. Use Your Own Voice“Write what you know: your own interests, feelings, beliefs, friends, family and even pets will be your raw materials when you start writing.” — J.K. Rowling


This is solid advice. Be yourself, don’t try to imitate another writer. Draw from your own experiences. No matter how old you are, you’ve got some baggage. Don’t take someone else’s luggage.


Write about subjects you find intriguing. For my short stories, I often end up examining alternative (dystopian) futures, human virtues and vices, economic subjects like a basic income, climate change, etc.


As I said, I’m not a native speaker and I don’t intend on using words I have never used before. Keep it simple.


I often use the situations I experienced with friends or family in my writing. I steal brilliant quotes from friends and assign them to a character. I tap into my own emotions and feelings to humanize my characters, the list is endless. Use what you know.


Bring your own (authentic) humor to the table. I often laughed out loud reading the Harry Potter books. Rowling can be so authentically funny in ways I personally haven’t been able to do myself. She hits you with a joke when you least expect it. Or she crafts a situation where one of her characters are put on the spot (Gilderoy Lockhart anyone?) where you just can’t take the character seriously. Play.


One more thing on this subject, read a lot. Figure out what you like. Study the greats. Again: don’t copy them, but learn from them.


“I always advise children who ask me for tips on being a writer to read as much as they possibly can. Jane Austen gave a young friend the same advice, so I’m in good company there.” — J.K. Rowling

Author J.K. Rowling Quotes

9 views0 comments
bottom of page